Belt Levels

There are six belt levels: white, yellow, green, blue, red, and black. The colours have great significance as detailed in the descriptions below.

Belt Level Desc
white tag 10th kup White signifies the innocence of the beginner who has no previous knowledge of Taekwon-Do.
yellow tag 9th kup Yellow tag
yellow 8th kup Yellow signifies the Earth from which a plant sprouts and takes root as the foundations of Taekwon-Do are laid in each student.
green tag 7th kup Green tag
green 6th kup Green signifies the plant’s growth as the Taekwon-Do skill begins to develop.
blue tag 5th kup Blue tag
blue 4th kup Blue signifies the Heaven, towards which the plant matures into a towering tree as training in Taekwon-Do progresses.
red tag 3rd kup Red tag
red 2nd kup Red signifies danger, cautioning the student to exercise control and warning the opponent to stay away.
black tag 1st kup Black tag
black 1st dan Black, opposite of white, therefore, signifying the maturity and proficiency in Taekwon-Do. It also indicates the wearer’s imperviousness to darkness and fear.
black 2nd dan Assistant Instructor
black 3rd dan Assistant Instructor
black 4th dan International Instructor. At this point, a person may become a “SaBum-Nim”
black 5th dan Instructor
black 6th dan Instructor
black 7th dan Master Instructor
black 8th dan Master Instructor
black 9th dan Grand Master